Is Whey Halal or Haram: Dillema With Digestive Enzymes

Whey protein is among the most effective sources of protein supplementation that comes with quick energy boots and minimum side effects. However, the manufacturing process and the associated ingredients make the Muslim consumer ask: Is whey halal or haram?

I have gone through the entire manufacturing process of whey protein, broken down the ingredients at the molecular level, and reviewed several scientific findings to find the answer for you.

Let me explain whether you can consume the why protein or not if you are a practicing Muslim health enthusiast or athlete.

Why Digestive Enzymes Play a Role in Whey Protein?

Whey is the by-product of cheese. Manufacturers use the enzyme rennet to coagulate the milk protein into cheese.

Usually, the rennet is derived from the stomach of a calf, lamb, or goat, while their diets are still limited to milk. This is typically 90% pure chymosin.

Vegetable rennet is made from a type of mold (Mucur Miehei). Microbial rennet uses living organisms like fungi, yeasts, and mold to curdle milk.

So, Is Whey Halal or Haram?

Whey is halal if made with rennet derived from calves, lambs, or goats slaughtered according to Islamic requirements. Whey made with microbial, vegetable, or genetically modified rennet is also halal. The whey is haram if made with haram-sourced rennet, pepsin, or lipase.

You need to check the source of the enzymes while buying whey protein or any dietary supplement containing digestive enzymes. Some manufacturers do not mention the sources and switch them without any notice. You better avoid them.

is whey halal

Benefits of Whey Protein

Whey protein is a supplement that people use alongside resistance exercise to help boost muscle protein synthesis and the growth of lean muscle mass. It is a complete protein containing all nine essential amino acids.

Amino acids are essential for many functions in the body, from building muscle to creating new immune cells. Whey protein provides a more absorbable, high-protein source than nearly any other food or supplement and is easy to digest.

Here are some of the benefits of whey protein supported by human studies:

  • Excellent source of high-quality protein.
  • Promotes muscle growth.
  • It may lower blood pressure.
  • It may help reduce symptoms from several chronic conditions by reducing inflammation.
  • Promote healthy muscles more effectively than plant-based protein supplements.
  • The amino acids in whey protein help repair skin and tissues from wounds or surgery.
  • People who need to gain weight can benefit from whey protein.
  • Very satiating (filling), even more so than other types of protein.
  • It may help improve heart health by reducing cardiovascular risk factors.
  • It may help with weight loss by promoting satiety and increasing muscle mass and strength.

Can Whey Protein be Harmful to Health

Whey protein is generally considered safe for most people as long as they don’t have a dairy allergy. However, there are some potential side effects and risks of whey protein, including:

  • Digestive problems: Some people may experience constipation, diarrhea, or nausea from taking whey protein, especially if they take large amounts.
  • High-calorie content: Some protein powders may contain added sugar, calories, or even toxic chemicals, leading to weight gain and an unhealthy spike in calorie intake.
  • Limited data on long-term effects: There are limited data on the possible side effects of high protein intake from supplements, so the long-term effects of whey protein are not well understood.
  • Possible damage to the kidneys and liver: Some studies have associated the damaging effect of whey protein with the chronic and abusive use of whey protein, with the kidneys and liver being the main organs affected.
  • Aggravation of aggression, presence of acne, and modification of the microbiota: Excessive consumption over a long period of protein supplementation may have some adverse effects on the body, aggravated when associated with a sedentary lifestyle.

Final Words

I am sure you won’t be confused about “Is Whey Halal or Haram.” If you know the source of the enzyme, it will be a breeze to figure out which one is suitable for you.

Pick the right protein supplement and enhance your healthy endeavor. Make sure to check our latest blogs.

Leave a Comment